Governance, Vision, Mission & Values

Vision, Mission & Plan


We long to see faithful, thoughtful and biblical ministry which honours the Lord Jesus Christ in all the world.


Our Mission is to enable men and women to deepen their knowledge of God, through higher education in the field of theology. This is so that they might faithfully and effectively live exemplary Christian lives, proclaim and teach the Word of God, and care for others in the name of Jesus Christ in all the world, to the glory of God.


Moore College conducts its activities within the framework of this vision, mission and its values, underpinned by a strategic plan. Check out our detailed strategic plan at the button below.


The values we uphold
Christian Faith
Christian Faith

Trust in God and his purposes as these are revealed in Jesus Christ and conveyed to us by the Holy Spirit in the canonical scriptures of the Old and New Testaments;


Honesty, transparency, fairness and accountability in all personal behaviour and community practices;


Generosity and compassion in dealings with each other, reflecting the undeserved mercy of God in Christ;


Placing the welfare of others above personal interests and convenience, using the gifts and talents that God has graciously given;


Loving personal relationships, developed through regular meeting and a common focus, as the proper context for learning about the triune God and his purposes;


Rigour of thought characterised by a careful use of primary evidence, breadth of research and appropriate inferences, resulting in fresh and readily accessible approaches to both classic issues and contemporary questions;

Gender Complementarity
Gender Complementarity

Affirmation of the fundamental equality and mutual dependence of men and women as image bearers of God, while recognising proper differences in roles and responsibilities in life and Christian ministry;

Freedom of Enquiry
Freedom of Enquiry

The freedom to subject all ideas to honest inquiry;


Growth in the knowledge of God is best conducted for, and in the context of, life application and active participation in Christian service.

College Governance

The Governing Board of the College

In general terms, the management and control of the College is vested by the Synod of the Diocese of Sydney in the Moore Theological College Council. The Moore Theological College Council is incorporated under the Anglican Church Bodies Corporate Act 1938 and is constituted by the Moore Theological College Ordinance 2009. Under the Ordinance the Council is charged with the provision of training for ordination candidates and other church workers.

The affairs of the Moore Theological College Council are managed, governed and controlled by the Governing Board of the College.

Governing Board Members

The Most Rev Dr G N Davies (President)

The Rev Dr M D Thompson (Principal)

Mr K M Chapman

Mr A E Clemens (Treasurer)

Assoc. Professor D R Cohen (Chair of Academic Board)

Miss S Duc (Student Representative)

The Right Rev C Edwards

The Ven K L Hartley (Archdeacon for Women’s Ministry)

Dr W J Hurditch

Mr A J Killen

The Rev Canon K M Kim

The Rev G S L Koo

The Rev E A Loane (Faculty Representative)

The Rev J L Ramsay

Dr R Tong AM (Secretary)

Dr D W Warren

Academic Board

The Governing Board has delegated to the Academic Board responsibility for:

  • Policy formulation and decision making in all academic matters; and
  • Maintaining the academic values, quality and standards of the College.

The Academic Board is, in relation to all academic matters, the pre-eminent source of advice to the Governing Board.

The members of the Academic Board are:

Assoc. Professor David Cohen, University of NSW;

The Principal;

All members of the Faculty;

A student representative elected by the students; and

Dr Erica Sainsbury, University of Sydney.

This Board is chaired by Assoc. Professor David Cohen and meets five times per year.

The Board delegates various functions to a number of committees which report directly to it. The committees are:

  • The Learning and Teaching Committee;
  • The Research and Centres Committee;
  • The Library Committee;
  • The Moore Distance Education Committee; and
  • The Human Research Ethics Committee.
  • The Academic Dean (Colin Bale), in conjunction with the Academic Board and its committees, is responsible for the supervision of the studies of theological students.

The Dean of Students (Paul Grimmond) is responsible for all matters which affect the personal and spiritual welfare of students and their families.

The Advisor to Overseas Students (Will Timmins) is the official point of contact for overseas students with the College.

The Academic Departments of the College with the respective Heads of Department are:

Division of Biblical Studies

  • Department of Old Testament and Hebrew — Andrew Shead
  • Department of New Testament and Greek — Philip Kern

Division of Christian Thought

  • Department of Theology, Philosophy and Ethics — Mark Thompson
  • Department of Church History — Colin Bale

Division of Christian Ministry

  • Department of Pastoral Ministry — Archie Poulos
  • Department of Mission — Simon Gillham